Softball New Zealand [U17 Girls Tournament Programme] – [11-14 January 2024]



SOFTBALL NEW ZEALAND

Patron

Bob Leveloff MNZM

President

Lynda O'Cain

Chairperson

Hoani Lambert

Deputy - Chairperson

Rebecca Annan

Board - Executive

Duncan Enoka, Charlene Pouaka, Brooke Hurndell, Amy Marfell

Life Members

Harry Atkin &, Emma Bright &, Roy Dalton &, Ed Dolejs &, Merrell Ferguson, Don Freeman &, Danae Goosman MNZM, Jim Gibson &, Rusty Hay &, Paul Higgins &, David Howe &, Alfred Jenkins &, Lyndsey Leask QSM &, Bob Leveloff MNZM, Gerry Marshall &, C (Mick) R Murphy &, Colin J Pringle &, C (Tex) L Sheilds &, Joyce Smith &, George Vincent OBE &, John T Voyle MBE &, Ray Weaver &, Alfred Whelan MBE &, William (Bill) H Wilson &, Dale Eagar, Ray Tibbits &, Nicky Sherriff

Interim Chief Executive Officer

Vaughan Dennison

Administration Manager

Chris Gates

Executive Assistant

Tania Giles

High Performance General Manager

Bevan Matene

Event & National Teams Manager

Eugene Gilbert

TOURNAMENT MANAGEMENT COMMITTEE & OFFICIALS U17 Girls National Championship

Officials	
Tournament Organiser	Ella Ross
Softball NZ Delegate	Eugene Gilbert
Umpire in Chief	Andy McManus
Chief Scorer	Deb Townley
Statistician	Stuart Gamble

Umpires			
Lucy Pearse	Dave Taiwhanga	Cass Seeling	
Paddy O'Sullivan	Bridget Baker	Brody McDonald	
Simon Lindsay	Mike McCaw	Chris Murdoch	
Kevin Sheehy	Shirley Harvey	John Hickman	
Scorers			
Karina Rueb	Deb Douglas	Carol Elson	
Aimee Russell	Tania Sampson	Jo Hyde	
Sharon Murphy			

U17 GIRLS NATIONAL CHAMPIONSHIP

AUCKLAND	CANTERBURY	COUNTIES MANUKAU
Lexc Albert-Matthews	Jaiya Barnes	Sienna Dufty
Cori Batts	Jade Croskery	Savannah-Lee Farrar
Jurnee Brown	Shyla De Lautour	Jasmine Feng
Tyler Graham	Bella Folesi	Oliani-Pearl Hesp
Elyse Harold-Fasi	Aimee Goodmanson	Payton Hiraka
Skylah-Breeze Joyce	Jessica Haldane	Ia Kingi-Hicks
Ella Ma'afu-Poi	Caitlin Henderson	Jorja Matthews
Anahera Martin	Hannah Jones	Zoey Martin
Lapree Ngu	Ivy McLeod-Frewen	Acadia Nathan-Kaihau
Tui Panui	Emera O'Hara	Janaiya Nathan-Kaihau
Lillie-Rose Pinn	Maddison Parsons	Penny Starr
Ava Prescott	Lily Sciascia	Chelsea Te Puni
Mikaera Rountree	Cynize Tahere	Trinity Waiwiri-Toka
Kyla Thorstensen	Te Ana Tawhiao	
Nia-Jaye Witika		

HUTT VALLEY	NORTH HARBOUR	OTAGO		
Kim-Marie Arupa	Mariah Barber	Charlotte Flawn		
Bella Coxson Amelia Forbes	Neve Cadness-Aspinall Abigail Church	Soliana Freeman Waihi Freeman		
Mila Haami Angela Harrison	Huiarangi Cooper-Nicola Matilda Edwards	Freya Glover Kamryn Hale		
Georja Keall Viena Masoe	Jaimee Hoani Sarah McMillan	Jasmine Hill Hana MacDuff		
Matangihau Nuku	Grace Palmer	Sophie Marsh		
Maggie Shileds Safira Shultz	Central Salt Rori Seymour	Riley Matthews Benka Page-Smith		
Ella Smits Meagan Stokes	Jessica Taylor Briahn Tuhura	Ambah Robinson Kadince Robinson		
Dakota Symons Jayda Walters-Rangitahi	Freya Wiliams	Jorja Simpson		

U17 GIRLS NATIONAL CHAMPIONSHIP

SOUTHLAND	WELLINGTON	WHANGANUI
Alycia Forbes Ruby Forbes	Siobhan Bolger Ava Hamilton	Shiloh Campbell Riley Cribb
Tarnee Gallen	Ivana Laulu	Tiare-Tiana Filipo
Aurora McKillop-Sycamore	Anuela Leofo	Lousheanna Green
Kenley Robb	Kostyn Manson	Tayte Hita
Ashlea Roberts	Ruby Morisson	Maiyah Moon
Zaaliyah Robinson	Brianna Olds	Olivia Moore-Smith
Shaunika Ross	Raukura Parata-Mua	Raukura Patea
Nikiah Rouse	Matilda Sipeli	Ngarongokaumoana Ponga
Dominque Takimoana	Puti Smith	Poppy Priddle
Anna Williams	Te Aroha Takiwa Hampton	Ivy Toa
	Jayelle Temarama	Taylah Waitokia
	Magdelene Ulberg	

DRAW & RESULTS - U17 GIRLS CHAMPIONSHIP

Hutt Valley
Auckland
Whanganui
Southland

FORMAT

There is 9 teams in a single Round Robin (RR). From finishing position in RR games determines placings in the playoffs. Top 4 teams playoff in semi-finals (1 v 4, 2 v 3) with losers playing for 3rd and 4th and winners for the Championship. Other playoff games have 5 v 6 and 8 v 9, with 7 playing the winner of 8 v 9 for overall tournament placings.

DAY ONE - THURSDAY

TIME	GAME	TEAM		TEAM	DIA
9am	1	WN	V	CM	2
	2	HV	V	SL	3
	3	OG	V	AK	1
11am	4	NH	V	СВ	2
	5	WN	V	WG	1
1pm	6	CM	V	SL	3
	7	AK	V	V HV	1
	8	СВ	V	OG	2
3pm	9	WN	V	NH	1
	10	OG	V	WG	2
5pm	11	AK	V	SL	1
-	12	СВ	V	СМ	2

DAY TWO – FRIDAY

TIME	GAME	TEAM		TEAM	DIA
9am	13	HV	V	WG	1
	14	OG	V	NH	2
11am	15	WN	V	AK	3
	16	CM	V	NH	2
	17	SL	V	СВ	1
1pm	18	OG	V	HV	3
	19	WN	V	СВ	1
	20	WG	V	СМ	2
3pm	21	NH	V	HV	1
	22	SL	V	WG	2
5pm	23	WN	V	OG	2
	24	AK	V	СВ	1

DAY THREE - SATURDAY

TIME	GAME	TEAM		TEAM	DIA
9am	25	WG	V	AK	
	26	WN	V	SL	
	27	СМ	V	HV	
11am	28	SL	V	OG	
	29	AK	V	NH	
	30	HV	V	СВ	
1pm	31	OG	V	CM	
	32	СВ	V	WG	
3pm	33	NH	V	SL	
	34	WN	V	HV	
5pm	35	CM	V	AK	
1	36	NH	V	WG	

DAY FOUR - SUNDAY

TIME	GAME	TEAM		TEAM	DIA
9am	37	1	٧	4	1
	38	2	V	3	2
	39	8	V	9	3
11am	40	5	V	6	TBC
	41	Loser 37	V	Loser 38	TBC
	42	7	V	Winner 39	3
1pm	43	Winner 37	V	Winner 38	1

RESULTS & STANDINGS

Points will be awarded on the basis of 5 for a win, 2 for a tie breaker loss and 1 for a loss by 2 or less. Where tie breaker points are awarded no other points can be gained.

ROUND ROBIN	Auckland	Canterbury	Counties	Hutt Valley	Otago	Whanganui	North Harbour	Southland	Wellington	Points
Auckland										
Canterbury										
Counties										
Hutt Valley										
Otago										
Whanganui										
North Harbour										
Southland										
Wellington										

TIED TEAMS

At all national tournaments where there is a tie for a Championship, then such Championship shall be decided by playoffs as necessary, except where time does not permit.

1. Championship Playoffs

Used only to find the NZ Tournament champion team

- a. If two teams tie the playoffs is a simple one off game
- b. If three teams tie use the Tied Team Formula to find the top team to play the winner of the match between the other two teams to find the NZ Champion.
- c. If four teams tie, use a straight knock out starting 1vs4, 2vs3; these seedings should be found by using the tied team formula.
- d. Should time permit the playing of one game only, then this shall be between the top two seeds (placed by use of tied team formula)
- e. Where time or weather do not permit a play off for the championship, the round robin results may be used to determine the champion team
 - 1. If round robin not completed and tied teams have played each other use tied team formula (2a) to separate two tied teams or (2b) to separate three or more.
 - 2. If round robin not completed and tied teams have not played each other use the results from an equal number of completed games and apply the tied team formula (2b 1 and 2)
- f. Playoffs for all places, except NZ Championship for promotion, relegation and grading purposes shall be decided by the tied team formula.

2. Tied Team Formula

- a. If two teams tie the result of the game LAST played between them then the winner is placed above loser. "Who beat who"
- b. If three (or more) teams tie for any position and cannot be graded by the method in (2a) above then the following methods are to be used in determining placings: ie. If one has not beaten all others
 - Calculate the run ratio of games played between the tied teams, grading them from highest to lowest
 - 2. Where teams can be separated and ranked as in 2b1 that ranking holds. For teams still tied after 2b1 and unable to be separated as in 2a calculate the ratio of runs scored in all games played in the round robin by the teams that cannot be separated.
 - 3. If three or more teams still have the same run ratio, rank them in order of the total runs each team scored in the round robin.

Note: The run ratio (i.e. Runs for divided by runs against), is calculated on the runs scored at the last completed even innings, except that if a team batting second wins in a partly completed innings (one run) that innings may be counted.

3. Responsibility

The Tournament Organiser, SNZ Board Representative and Chief Scorer are responsible for any decision necessary to place tied teams.